The Dress – A Poem in Two Parts

I pull you out of the closet

Stashed there for a future

I’m not sure exists

It feels a lot closer now

But still so so so distant

I pull you out

Because I determine what’s appropriate

I made the rules

About when I can wear you

So I get to change them

And I do

I pull you out because

The lace at your neck makes me feel delicate

Like I have a long, slender throat

That all those old writers raved about

I slide you on

Waist cinching in

Zipper gliding up like butter

Hem dusting the tops of my thighs

My best feature in full display

I love how you make my arms look long and toned

Shoulders strong

Feminine

Intimidating

Beautiful

A set of pearls

Traditional and staid

But always make me feel so grown up and scandolous

A dichotomy

My favorite

I slide rings on my fingers

Carefully choosing who I’d represent today

After a year of naked hands

Trying to stay clean

To keep as few surfaces on myself that could harbor

This plague that so few seem to take seriously

I breathe out

Staying in

Keeping clean

I’m not giving them up

But I’m not giving up on me either

I won’t let it control me

I can be beautiful here, too


I look down at my stomach

Curving gently over my seatbelt

The high waistline of you tucked in

Under my chest

As if my stomach were this large mound

Even though

It simply exists

I look out the window

My thighs sticking to the seat

My legs I think so much of

Hair on them long

I just haven’t taken the time to shave

And I’m blonde

So it’s hard to see

And I wonder whether I care for me or all the eyes that I imagine notice

And whether or not it even matters

I’m screaming for validation

For someone to notice

I’ve gotten compliments

That I can’t feel

Sincerely meant

Appreciating me

How I look

But none of it counts

It never does

I stand in front of my mirror

Looking at me in you

Feeling the bloat from pasta

The weight from a year

Living in the stress of a global pandemic

Knowing you still fit

Seeing where the seams pull tight

Wondering if this is what everyone else saw

A stupid little girl

Wearing her mother’s pearls

Acting like she mattered

Like she deserved to be seen

As if she’s beautiful

I ask the girl

Why it matters what people say

And she tells me

I’m so tired of feeling beautiful

Only to find out I’m not

I feel like a fool

I feel like I’ve been had

I feel like I’m so disappointed to be me

That how I look and how I feel don’t match up

It’s jarring

It’s embarrassing

And I watch the little girl cry

Wearing a dress she got on sale

And has rarely worn

Because of made up rules

And fear of finding out a truth

That maybe we don’t get to be beautiful

That maybe this is as good as it gets

And I look in the mirror

And I tell the little girl

I’m sorry

I’m sorry that you have to live that way

I’m sorry you’re not taken seriously

That you don’t ever feel like your insides match your outsides

That you feel too wide and too flat

It must be so hard to want to be beautiful so badly

And think you can’t ever be

I’m so sorry

I unclasp my pearls

Slide off my rings

Slowly unzip my dress

Reverently placing each of these pieces

Of my external validation

On the counter

I look in the mirror again

What I see colored not by grace or loathing

Simply acknowledging

Simply accepting

Not loving

Not hating

Only hoping

That maybe I can be beautiful here, too

Leave a comment